News from NEPA's KidDilly Network www.kiddilly.com

Giggle Bug Toddler Tracker

with 3 comments

Giggle Bug

 

Has this happened to you?

You’re in the mall, park, airport or a similar crowded area with your child. You get distracted for just a moment, and when you turn your attention back to your toddler, he or she isn’t there!

I had a similar frightening experience last summer at the beach.  We were there with a large group of family members, and the person who was watching after my toddler lost track of her.  She could have been anywhere.  By the pool, by the ocean, by the street. My heart raced and I felt like I couldn’t breathe. 

Luckily, we found her safe with another family member after about two minutes.  But those two minutes felt like an eternity to me.

It is every parent’s biggest fear. And, it’s the premise behind Intelent Technologies, which was started in 2005 by Barry Wallace. The idea was to create a child locator system that was simple, effective and affordable.

After several scary moments with their then 3 year-old son, Barry’s wife Julianne came up with the idea for the Giggle Bug Toddler Tracker. The product is the result of several years of market testing and customer feedback on child locators and child safety products.

The Giggle Bug Toddler Tracker is designed to be used with children 18 months – 6 years of age. You simply clip the Bug onto the child’s clothing before turning it on. Then hold down the button on the back of the Bug (between wings) for 3 seconds. The Bug’s eyes will flash, showing you the unit is on.

If your child is out of sight, you can locate him or her by pushing on the hand-held parent unit. Doing so causes the Bug to emit a loud, but still child-friendly beep. The range in which the unit will function indoors is between 75-100 feet, and outdoors is 100+ feet. More information regarding this can be found at www.giggle-bug.com.

If the Bug becomes dislodged or is removed from the child’s clothing and the clip closes, the unit will “beep” and flash until the clip is opened and reattached.

The Giggle Bug Toddler Tracker has been featured on The View, Nanny 911, iVillage Live, The Morning Show with Mike and Juliet and other programs, and has received an iParenting Media award for product excellence.

The Giggle Bug can be purchased for $19.95 plus shipping & handling at www.giggle-bug.com. Order now and get a second Giggle Bug free, just pay shipping & handling!

I’ve tried this product and I agree it gives a parent a certan peace of mind.  It will definitely be on my child at the mall and at the park.  And my Giggle Bug will be the first thing I pack for the beach this summer!

The KidDilly team has one Giggle Bug to give away to our readers!  Leave us a comment telling us your missing toddler tale and/or why you really need a Giggle Bug, and you could be the lucky winner!

Donna

Written by 2bloggals

February 17, 2009 at 2:57 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My son is 19 months old and a very active child! He thinks he is 19 years old I think. Anyway, he often tries to do things on his own and has yet to learn how to yell “What?” or “Here” when I call his name. We have an old home and the door is original to the house. If it is not bolted shut, Johnny will take it upon himself to go outside! My husband and I are constantly on top of locking the door, but I am still afraid that he will get out when someone is visiting or babysitting and who knows where he will go! The other day he wandered into our very scary, unfinished, dark basement and could care less that we were frantically calling him! He just stayed there quiet as a mouse for a couple of minutes until my husband found him. I am in BIG trouble when we decide to have another baby and I have to keep track of both of them!

    Mandy Montoro

    February 23, 2009 at 8:04 pm

  2. Thanks for writing this review! I’ve been looking at a couple different kid trackers and I think this one sounds great. Especially for the price! Thankfully, my son isn’t too bad about running away. He’s learning to stay closer to us in the mall and places like that, but sometimes he just gets so excited that he forgets to wait for us or he just doesn’t want to hear me when I say “wait!”. Mostly, what I get worried about is when we’re at a playplace, playground, or like you mentioned… the beach. Places where he’s allowed to go away from me and be on his own. He’s such a social child and has never shown any fear of strangers or seperation anxiety when I’m not around. It just worries me that he’ll suddenly take off when I can’t see him on the other side of the playground. And now that we are expecting our second baby, I’ll be all the more distracted when we’re out and about. I can definitely see myself using this. I especially like that if it’s taken off or falls off, it flashes and makes the beeping noise to alarm me.

    Do you know if they come in any other designs?
    Thanks again for reviewing this product!

    Wendy

    February 24, 2009 at 1:21 pm

  3. The random winner of the Giggle Bug is Mandy Montoro! Congratulations, Mandy! If you will please email your address to KidDilly@ymail.com, we will mail your Giggle Bug to you.

    Wendy, to answer your question, the Giggle Bug is a lady bug design, but is available in 3 colors…red, green or yellow.

    Thanks for playing! Keep checking KidDilly for more contests & more fun!

    Donna

    2bloggals

    February 27, 2009 at 11:40 am


Leave a comment